Promotion of CSR


♦ What is CSR? 

Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) means that a company should “take from society, give back to society”. Not only make money for shareholders, but also contribute to the sustainable development of society and the environment.

Actually, CSR is not a new concept. There are “confucian entrepreneurs” in Chinese and corporate philanthropists” in the West. Therefore, before the term appeared, the practice of companies giving back to society already existed.

Ancient Chinese Hui Merchants already had the concept of CSR, which appealed to business ethics including treating people with sincerity and trust, gaining profits with righteousness, winning with quality and giving back to the society with kindness.

In 1999, the UN Secretary-General then, Kofi Anan, called for companies to implement CSR. At the time, CSR only presented a broad concept (no validation index).

CSR has been the rage since the financial crisis in 2008.

CSR is applicable to: governments, companies, NGOs and individuals.

Traditionally, it is believed that CSR is just a charitable activity of donating money, so it is a matter of large and wealthy companies and has nothing to do with small and medium enterprises (SMEs). However, there are many components of CSR, and it is not necessary to be done with a lot of money. Some components are not even related to money, such as providing a happy working environment for employees, hiring employees, cultivating employees, advocating turning off the lights, paying attention to consumer safety, etc.

There are many companies that are already implementing them, but they don’t know. Wouldn't it be a pity to be promoted to a CSR company if they can work a little harder?

Promoting CSR not only can give back to society and improve the company’s image, but also can obtain related subsidies easily. In addition, it can drive more integration of the upstreams and downstreams of the industry chains, and thus obtain diversified orders at home and abroad.

Based on the global trends in 2021, international investors will give priority to CSR companies to invest (ESG funding wave), and achieve both public welfare and benefits which forms a circle of good.

Companies can evaluate the extent of promoting CSR according to their own resources because CSR is not a competition of scale of investment. It’s the idea of how to start from the original business of the company plus the concept of altruism to give back to society. Perhaps large companies have broader space for development, but SMEs can also make distinctive CSR. Even microenterprises with only five people can implement CSR.

 

♦ What are SDGs?

SDGs:Sustainable Development Goals

The SDGs inherit from MDGs (Millennium Development Goals), which was published by the UN in 2000 to help slow-developing countries get out of poverty. After reviewing the MDGs, in 2015, the UN proposed 17 SDGs (and accompanying 169 indicators) in response to the common challenges humans are facing and identifying the world's most pressing sustainability issues.

     ► It is a guideline for the world's to work on promoting sustainable development by 2030 for the world's.

     ► SDGs are applicable to: governments, companies and NGOs.

     ► Coverage: Three aspects of economic growth, social progress and environmental protection.

 

♦ What is ESG? 

ESG:Environment, Social and Governance.

The concept of ESG was first proposed by the UN Global Compact in 2004, which is regarded as an indicator for evaluating the operation of a company.

CSR is the main concept of sustainable management. And, ESG is one of the measurement indicators and the investment standard that the market refers to.

Why does ESG exist?

When many business owners claim that they care about the environment, pay attention to social responsibilities and abide by ethical standards, but without an objective indicator to assess how much the business has done, we can only allow business owners to issue press releases about activities that only shows the bright side, seem to care about the environment, etc.

Therefore, in order to have specific evaluation indicators and also serve as a reference for investors, ESG was born.

ESG is applicable to: companies and NGOs. 

It covers 3 major aspects, 10 topics and 37 indicators.

 

♦ Graph of relationship within CSR/SDGs/ESG

 

♦ Table of relationship within CSR/SDGs/ESG

 

♦ Why do we promote CSR/SDGs/ESG?

 

♦ How do companies promote CSR/SDGs/ESG?

To promote CSR/SDGs/ESG, in addition to learning relevant knowledge, there are hundreds of various criteria and indicators, and various international organizations are adding new regulations at any time. Other than figuring out the latest rules, how enterprises should import is also a big problem.

Fortunately, President of TransAct Technology, Vivi Huang, has accumulated 25 years of experience in helping hundreds of companies at home and abroad to promote CSR and further summarized the five-step plan for corporate promotion (SISRE), as follows:

Any enterprise that wants to involve in CSR/SDGs/ESG work can follow these specific five steps. However, the biggest difficulty in promoting CSR now is talent. It is not easy to train a senior consultant; the company lacks practical promoters; and there are still problems such as lengthy communication between consultants and company personnel. During the process, there are still many details, essentials, know-how, etc. for each step. For example, the inventory stage must consider industry regulations, stakeholders, etc.; “Premier Strategy” should take into account international concerns, company culture and strengths, etc. The actual operation is complicated with many factors to be considered so it is not easy to get started with only professional training.

President of TransAct Technology, Vivi Huang, summarized her counseling experience into the SESP methodology, which covers all the details, essentials, guidelines, know-how, etc. that should be paid attention to. There is a unique patented algorithm that can automatically export “Premier Strategy”. We also developed an expert system (information) platform with the O2O2O model, which uses computers as the role of consultants to intelligently guide enterprises step by step, take an overall inventory, formulate CSR/ESG promoting strategies, provide quantified scores to review the promotion effect and produce an CSR/ESG report in the end. It saves time, effort and cost while giving consideration to both breadth and depth. The platform is a combination of process (strategy formulation) and results (report output). It can also create a cloud record to be easily reviewed for promoting new strategies in the next year. It is different from greenwashing which only focuses on the production of the CSR/ESG report and does not have a comprehensive review and promotion strategy.

A schematic diagram of the TransAct service platform is as follow:

This platform can solve the difficulties during the CSR promotion process, assist companies to quickly promote CSR/ESG and produce CSR/ESG reports. Moreover, the use of this platform fulfills the latest SDGs, SDG18 (digital technology).

 

♦ The 18 SDGs are introduced as follows:

CSR實務推動


♦ 什麼是 CSR?

CSR(Corporate Social Responsibility;企業社會責任)就是企業要「取之社會、用之社會」,不光只是替股東賺錢而已,還要對社會、環境的永續發展有所貢獻。

CSR其實早已不是新概念,在中國傳統中有「儒商」、西方有「企業慈善家」,可見在這個名詞出現前,企業回饋社會的做法就已經存在了。

中國古代徽商(徽州人)就有CSR的概念,訴求商業道德:以誠待人、以信接物、以義取利、以質取勝,以善心回饋社會。

1999 年,由時任聯合國祕書長科菲.安南(Kofi Anan)倡議,要求公司落實 CSR。當時,CSR 僅提出一個廣泛的概念(沒有驗證指標)。

2008 年金融風暴之後,再次推升企業社會責任的浪潮至今。

CSR適用對象:政府、企業、NGO(非營利組織)、個人。

傳統認為CSR只是捐錢的慈善活動,因此是有錢大企業的事,跟中小企業無關。不過,CSR面向非常多,並非一定要花大錢才能做,有些面向甚至跟錢無關。例如:提供員工幸福的工作環境、聘雇員工、培訓員工成長、宣導隨手關燈、注重消費者使用安全等皆是。

所以有許多企業本身就已在落實,卻不得而知,若能再稍加一把勁,即能晉升為CSR企業,豈不可惜?

推動CSR除了回饋社會並提高公司自身的形象之外,也易獲得政府相關補助,且因此帶動更多上下游產業鏈的結合,進而取得多元國內外的訂單。

以2021世界關鍵趨勢,國際投資人皆優先選擇CSR企業注入資金(ESG資金潮),公益與收益兼得,形成一個善的循環。

企業可以依據本身的資源來評估推動CSR的程度,因為CSR畢竟不是一個比拚投資規模的遊戲,而是如何從企業的原本業務出發,加上利他概念,回饋社會。或許大企業能夠揮灑的空間較大,但中小企業一樣能做出有特色的CSR,就算只是五人的微型企業都可以落實CSR。

 

♦ 什麼是 SDGs ?

SDGs:Sustainable Development Goals;永續發展目標。

SDGs 的前身是聯合國為了協助發展緩慢的國家脫離貧窮,於 2000 年發表的千禧年發展目標(MDGs,Millennium Development Goals)。而後檢討千禧年發展目標,聯合國在2015 年針對人類面臨共同的挑戰,提出了17項永續發展目標(以及隨附的169項指標),鑑定出全球最急迫的永續議題。

     ► 作為2030年前世界各國努力推動永續發展的指導方針。

     ► SDGs適用對象:政府、企業、NGO(非營利組織)。

     ► 涵蓋:經濟成長、社會進步及環境保護三大面向。

 

♦ 什麼是 ESG ?

ESG:Environment(環境)、Social(社會)、Governance(公司治理)。

聯合國全球契約(UN Global Compact)於 2004 年首次提出 ESG 的概念,被視為評估一間企業經營的指標。

CSR 是永續經營的主要概念,ESG 則是其中一種衡量指標,也是市場參照的投資標準。

為什麼會有 ESG 的出現?

當不少企業主對外聲稱自己關懷環境、關注社會責任、遵守道德規範,卻沒有一個客觀的指標評估到底企業做到多少,只能任由企業主發布對自己有利、看似關懷環境等活動的新聞稿。

因此為了有具體評估績效指標,也作為投資者的參考標準,ESG因應而生。

ESG適用對象:企業、NGO(非營利組織),涵蓋3大面向;10個主題;37個指標。

 

♦ CSR/SDGs/ESG 關聯圖

 

♦ CSR/SDGs/ESG 關聯分析表

 

♦ 為什麼要推動 CSR/SDGs/ESG?

 

♦ 企業應如何推動CSR/SDGs/ESG?

企業要想推動CSR/SDGs/ESG,除了要先學習相關知識外,各種準則、細部指標有幾百條之多,且各國際組織隨時在新增規定,除了要弄清楚最新規則外,企業要如何導入,也是一大問題。

所幸薪傳智庫公司負責人黃沛桐總經理,累積25年輔導國內外數百家企業推動CSR之豐富經驗,逐步歸納出企業推動五步驟圖(SISRE),如下:

任何企業欲投入CSR/SDGs/ESG工作,只要依此具體五步驟即可按部就班導入。然而目前推動CSR最大困難因素是人才:資深顧問養成不易、企業缺乏實務推動人員,尚有顧問與企業人員溝通冗長等困擾。而期間每一步驟尚有諸多細節、要領、訣竅等,例如盤點階段須顧及產業規定、利害關係人等;策略缺口分析應顧及國際關注事項、公司組織文化與優勢等;實際運作細節繁雜,考量因素繁多,並非受過專業訓練課程即能上手。

薪傳智庫公司負責人黃沛桐總經理,特別將其豐富輔導經驗,歸納整理為SESP方法論,將所有應注意細節、要領、準則、訣竅等涵蓋在內,且有獨特專利演算法,能自動導出「策略缺口分析」,並開發出專家系統(資訊)平台,以O2O2O模式,藉由電腦扮演顧問角色,智慧型引導企業按部就班、全方位盤點,擬定推動CSR/ESG策略,還可量化評分檢討推動成效,更可據此產出永續報告書,省時省力省成本,兼具廣度與深度,過程(擬定策略)與結果(產出報告)兼顧,更可建立雲端數位存摺,以方便下一年檢討推動新戰略。不似一般漂綠,只顧產出永續報告書應付,而無全盤式檢討推動戰略。

薪傳CSR服務平台簡易示意圖如下:

此平台可解決CSR推動困難,協助企業迅速推動CSR/ESG,及產出永續報告書。而且運用此平台,又合乎SDGs第18項最新目標(數位科技)。

 

♦ SDGs(永續發展目標) 18項目標介紹如下: